How safe is it to consume products based on reviewing the ingredients list when the product is not certified or labeled as gluten-free? Should the manufacturer always be contacted to double check?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Some products that appear to be gluten-free based on ingredient labels have a higher risk of cross-contact with gluten and are best avoided unless certified or labeled gluten-free. Riskier products include oats, lentils, and milled products made from grains, beans, seeds or legumes (e.g., sorghum flour, garbanzo bean flour, ground flax). Otherwise, products containing ingredients that appear to be gluten-free should be safe to consume. Choose products labeled gluten-free in accordance with FDA regulations or, for additional assurance, that are GFCO third-party certified as gluten-free.