Is there risk in consuming beef, chicken, pork, shelled eggs, etc. if the animal itself was fed a grain/wheat-based diet?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Meats and eggs are naturally gluten-free and are safe to consume in their natural form, regardless of whether the source animal consumed gluten-containing grain. Gluten should not be present in properly handled meats. Processed meats such as deli meats could contain gluten, but it is not typical for gluten to be added. Meats marinated or injected with seasonings prior to packaging increases the risk of gluten being present. Check ingredients or buy products labeled gluten-free in accordance with FDA regulations or, for additional assurance, that are GFCO third-party certified as gluten-free.