Are “natural flavors” a concern if I’m gluten-free?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Most natural flavors are safely gluten-free, but use cautionThe term “natural flavors” on a product that is not labeled or certified gluten-free means it could be made using a gluten-containing ingredient such as malt extract derived from barley. Unless you can confirm the product does not contain malt extract, it should be avoided. If a natural flavor in an FDA-regulated product contains wheat, it must be stated on the label.