What does the term “gluten-free” mean? 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The term “gluten-free” describes the elimination of gluten-containing grains – wheat, barley, and rye – in food, drinks, and other products that could be ingested or enter the body in some other manner. People living gluten-free have either been diagnosed with celiac disease or experience reactions to consuming gluten due to a non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS) or have made the choice to eliminate gluten from their diets. The FDA dictates that any FDA-regulated food product labeled “gluten-free” should contain less than 20 ppm (parts per million) of gluten. The GFCO’s criteria for “gluten-free” certification is twice as strict as the FDAs, at 10 ppm of gluten or less.