Is yeast extract a concern when on a gluten-free diet?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Some yeast extracts may be grown in barley. Choose yeast extract that is labeled gluten-free in accordance with FDA regulations or, for additional assurance, that is GFCO third-party certified as gluten-free. If yeast extract or yeast extract-containing products are not labeled or certified gluten-free, they should be avoided.