Is wheatgrass a wheat product that should be avoided when eating gluten-free?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Wheat grass is a wheat product that comes from the stem of the plantnot the flower head where gluten is present. If wheat grass is harvested before the flower head builds, it is almost entirely carbohydrates and is theoretically gluten-free. However, when the wheat plant starts to mature, the possibility of gluten being present in wheat grass could be a problem. Avoid wheatgrass unless it is labeled gluten-free in accordance with FDA regulations or, for additional assurance, that is GFCO third-party certified as gluten-free.