Is oat milk safe to include in a gluten-free diet?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

For individuals who need to be gluten-free, oat milk needs to be assessed the same way you assess whole oats. While oats are inherently gluten-free, there is a significant risk of cross-contact with gluten-containing grains during the growing, transporting, storing and/or processing of oatsOats and oat milk should not be consumed unless labeled gluten-free in accordance with FDA regulations or, for additional assurance, that is GFCO third-party certified as gluten-free. To be certified gluten-free, oat milk needs to be made with oats that meet our certification standard. “Oats can be tolerated by most, but not all, people who are intolerant to gluten. Consult with your physician or dietitian before including oats – or oat milk – in a gluten-free diet. Check out our article Are Oats and Oat Flour Gluten-Free?