Should a person with celiac disease avoid vinegar and products containing vinegar?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Most vinegars are gluten-free. Most varieties are distilled and made from inherently gluten-free ingredients such as grapes. The only vinegar that needs to be avoided is malt vinegar. Malt vinegar is not distilled, and malt is derived from barley, a grain that is not gluten-free. The term “vinegar” in the ingredients list of a product that is certified by the GFCO or labeled gluten-free, in accordance with FDA regulations, means it is safe to consume for people with celiac disease. On products that are not certified or labeled gluten-free, the general term “vinegar” could refer to malt vinegar. In that case, the product should be avoided unless the manufacturer can confirm it is not malt vinegar.