Are dried fruits gluten-free? Are some dried fruits coated in gluten-containing flour, meaning they should be avoided?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Most dried fruits are gluten-free. Some dried fruits, like dates, could be coated with oat flour to prevent sticking. Oats, and oat flour, should be avoided unless labeled* or certified gluten-free. Oat flour used to dust dried fruits is not likely to be gluten-free. For safe dried fruits, read labels and avoid bulk bins. Choose a product either labeled gluten-free in accordance with FDA regulations or, for additional assurance, that is GFCO third-party certified as gluten-free.


* The safest oat products are those that have been certified gluten-free. While products labeled gluten-free should comply with the FDA definition of containing no more than 20 ppm of gluten, this is not third-party verified. GFCO’s standard for gluten-free is 10 ppm of gluten or less.