Are maltose and maltodextrin gluten-free?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The word “malt” in both of these ingredients can cause confusion since malt usually comes from barley, and barley is not gluten-free. However, both maltose and maltodextrin are gluten-free. Maltose is a type of sugar and is inherently gluten-free. Maltodextrin is a thickener, flavor enhancer, or filler that can be derived from a variety of starches including corn, potato, rice, or wheat. Even when derived from wheat, maltodextrin is so highly processed that it is gluten-free.