If my lentils are organic, do they still need to be labeled gluten-free to be safe?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Due to a higher level of risk of cross-contact than with other legumes or beans, lentils should be either labeled gluten-free in accordance with FDA regulations or, for additional assurance, GFCO third-party certified as gluten-free. Organic status is unrelated to gluten-free status, so this recommendation also applies to organic lentils.